LibreOffice / The Document Foundation

LibreOffice: it stands out from the office suite crowd.

We use LibreOffice as our standard office solution and support customers with SLA contracts with the implementation of OpenOffice and LibreOffice. The LibreOffice community is very close to our hearts. That's why we regularly work to give back to the community. Along with the organisation LibreOffice Conference, various employees have also contributed patches to LibreOffice. And we also support the Document Foundation by housing various servers and buildbots on our infrastructure.

Package Mirror

Mirror, mirror on the wall...

Fast downloads and high availability are the hallmarks of a good package mirror - we strive for nothing less with our package mirror. The mirror is available at https://pkg.adfinis-sygroup.ch and is the official mirror for the following distributors:

  • Arch Linux
  • CentOS
  • Debian
  • Ubuntu

The server delivers about 20 million files and around 6TB of data per month.

Conference Sponsorship

Meeting up and going farther together.

Adfinis SyGroup regularly sponsors open source conferences. Our consultants also contribute to the content portions of various meet-ups. Here is a small sample:

Swiss OpenStreetMap Association 

Open Street Map: more than just maps!

Open data is a subject closely related to open source and one that is very important to us. The Swiss OpenStreetMap Association is an elementary part of the Swiss OpenStreetMap movement, which contributes much to the setup and expansion of free map data. Adfinis SyGroup supports the Swiss OpenStreetMap Association by housing their server infrastructure, and various employees continually provide their edits in order to contribute to the growth of the data.

PyAptly 

Aptly Management done the easy way!

Aptly is a wonderful solution for creating and managing repositories. We use Aptly in a wide range of scenarios and have contributed a comprehensive addition in order to significantly simplify the many tasks. The resulting solution is available as PyAptly under the GNU Affero General Public License on GitHub.

Foreman-YML

Make Foreman configuration as easy as pie! :)

When it comes to commissioning Linux systems, both in-house and for customers, we prefer to use Foreman. In order to make the installation and configuration reproducible and automatable, we've developed a solution capable of imaging large parts of the Foreman configuration with a YML file and executing them, using Ansible, for instance. The resulting software is available as Foreman-YML under the GNU General Public License on GitHub.

Upstream Contributions

We're not just in it for ourselves!

For all of the open source solutions we use, we work directly with the upstream projects. This way, modifications and improvements are added directly. We also use public channels for communication with the projects and help other users with questions in forums, on IRC channels, etc.

Collaborating in Official Bodies and Organisations

United we stand!

Our employees are involved in all types of official bodies and organisations involved with various issues related to open source. This includes, for instance:

  • serving on the jury of the Swiss Open Source Awards
  • membership on the board of the CH Open association
  • partnership in the Parlamentarische Gruppe Digitale Nachhaltigkeit (Parliamentary Group for Digital Sustainability)
  • contributing as experts in vocational training projects in open source

For more on this subject, see here:

Open Source Projects

Projects we've started

Adfinis SyGroup develops solutions that others can also benefit from. We publish these solutions on our GitHub page and are always happy to receive feedback or contributions.

A few selected examples:

  • finja: a tool for searching through large quantities of source code (GitHub)
  • freedomvote: a platform which allows users to compare the positions of politicians and make voting recommendations (GitHub)
  • freeze: a tool for sorting and comparing data structures and objects (GitHub)
  • virtdesk: VDI tools for RHEV/oVirt (GitHub)

LibreOffice / The Document Foundation

LibreOffice: elle se distingue des autres suites de bureautique.

Nous utilisons LibreOffice en tant que suite bureautique standard et assistons nos clients dans le cadre de contrats SLA pour l'utilisation d'OpenOffice et de LibreOffice. Nous sommes très attachés à la communauté LibreOffice et le lui retournons en effectuant régulièrement diverses activités pour la communauté. Outre l'organisation de la LibreOffice Conference, plusieurs de nos employés ont contribué à des correctifs pour LibreOffice. En outre, nous promouvons la Document Foundation par l'hébergement de différents serveurs et robots de compilation sur notre infrastructure.

Paket Mirror

Miroir, mon beau miroir...

De bons packs miroir se caractérisent par des téléchargements rapides et une haute disponibilité et nous n'en attendons pas moins de notre pack miroir. Le miroir est disponible à https://pkg.adfinis-sygroup.ch et est le miroir officiel pour les distributeurs suivants :

  • Arch Linux
  • CentOS
  • Debian
  • Ubuntu

Le serveur fournit en un mois environ 20 millions de fichiers et près de 6 To de données.

Sponsoring de conférences

Se rencontrer et avancer ensemble.

Adfinis SyGroup soutient régulièrement des conférences Open Source en tant que sponsor. En outre, nos intervenants contribuent au contenu de différentes manifestations. Un bref extrait :

Swiss OpenStreetMap Association

Open Street Map: plus que de simples cartes!

Open Data est un sujet proche d'Open Source qui nous tient à cœur. La Swiss OpenStreetMap Association est une composante fondamentale du mouvement OpenStreetMap en Suisse qui contribue considérablement à la collecte et à la consolidation des données de cartes libres. Adfinis SyGroup soutient la Swiss OpenStreetMap Association par l'hébergement d'infrastructure de serveurs et plusieurs de nos employés apportent leur contribution au travers de corrections visant à l'accroissement des données disponibles.

PyAptly

Aptly Management facile!

Aptly est une merveilleuse solution pour créer et gérer des référentiels. Nous utilisons Aptly dans divers scénarios et avons contribuer à une extension complète afin de simplifier nettement les tâches fréquentes. La solution qui a vu le jour est disponible en tant que PyAptly sous la GNU Affero General Public License sur GitHub.

Foreman-YML

La configuration de Foreman? Du gâteau! :)

Quand il s’agit de mettre en service des systèmes Linux, que ce soit en interne ou pour des clients, nous préférons utiliser Foreman.

Afin de rendre l'installation et la configuration reproductibles et automatisables, nous avons développer une solution qui peut reproduire une grande partie de la configuration Foreman au moyen d'un fichier YML et y procéder au moyen par exemple d'Ansible. Le logiciel mis au point est disponible en tant que Foreman-YML sous la GNU General Public License sur GitHub.

Contributions en amont

Nous ne faisons pas seulement notre propre cuisine!

Pour l'ensemble de nos solutions Open Source, nous coopérons directement avec les projets en amont. De cette façon, les modifications et améliorations sont directement intégrées. En outre, nous utilisons les canaux officiels de communication pour ces projets et répondons aux questions d'autres utilisateurs sur les forums, les canaux IRC, etc.

Coopération au sein des organisations

Ensemble, nous sommes forts!

Nos employés s'engagent au sein de différentes organisations ayant trait à des sujets Open Source. Nos activités incluent notamment:

  • Coopération au sein du jury du Schweizer Open Source Award
  • Membre au sein du Comité de direction de l'association CH Open
  • Partenaire du Groupe parlementaire pour une informatique durable
  • Interventions en tant qu'experts au sein de projets de fin d'études dans le domaine Open Source

Plus sur ce sujet ici:

Projets Open Source

Projets de notre initiative

Adfinis SyGroup développe des solutions dont d'autres personnes peuvent également profiter. Nous publions celles-ci sur notre page GitHub et nous réjouissons de tout commentaire ou contribution.

Quelques exemples choisis :

  • finja : outil pour rechercher une grande quantité de code source (GitHub
  • freedomvote : plateforme pour comparer la position de politiciens et donner des recommandations de vote (GitHub)
  • freeze : outil pour trier et comparer des structures de données et des objets (GitHub)
  • virtdesk : VDI Tools pour RHEV/oVirt (GitHub)